WaW-logo-work-emb-full

Introducing Words and Wires

For me, it started with an Apple II back in 1982, when I was working as a radiochemist at the Liège University Cyclotron. Then I bought my first Macintosh, a soapbar-shaped Mac Plus in 1986. It was so much further advanced than Microsoft DOS, I couldn't understand why people didn't switch to Mac. In the first half of the 90s, I built and operated the IT network of a small savings bank with Mac workstations and Unix servers.

Then Windows 95 came out, and the advantages of the Apple Mac platform were far less clear-cut than before. Microsoft grew to dominate the enterprise and the home market. Apple was relegated to a niche of graphics designers and publishing.

When Steve Jobs returned to Apple in 1996, he brought more than his brilliance: he brought a Unix-based operating system called NeXTstep, which would grow to become Mac OS X. On 13 September 2000, I was waiting in front of an Apple dealer in Brussels at midnight for the first Public Beta release of Mac OS X.

Mac OS X is key to Apple's current success. Finally a company found a way to release the power of Unix to the general public. All the years I'd spent administrating Unix server systems could now be used to empower individual clients. Any Apple machine, a Mac desktop workstation or MacBook, hides under a well-designed user interface all the power of Unix. And I'm a greybeard Unix geek.

So, with the fusion of Unix and Apple skills and experience, and as an Apple Store for Business affiliate, Words and Wires offers Apple equipment, consulting and support for all Apple devices along with fully compatible private servers to run your critical email and file sharing services with full privacy on your office server or on a private server in the cloud.

You get the Apple equipment, but not even Apple gets access to your private data.

John Seifarth
Founder and Technologist
Words and Wires sprl
October 2013

John Seifarth - Founder of words and Wires

 

  • Contact Words and Wires
  • email:
  • Words and Wires sprl
    rue Valduc 266
    1160 Brussels
    Belgium
  • Phone: +32 2 660 3943
  • GSM: +32 478 42 45 20
  • Phone availability is 10:00 to 19:00 Monday through Saturday
    For customers with a support contract, phone availability is 10:00 to 22:00 Monday through Sunday
  • View John Seifarth's profile on LinkedIn
 

Checked with WC3 Validator © 2013 Words and Wires sprl www.waw.be

Small
Medium
Large
X-Large
Portait
Landscape

WaW-logo-work-emb-full

Introducing Words and Wires

Apple Mac and iOS hardware and consulting plus Linux servers

Pour moi, tout a commencé avec un Apple II en 1982, alors que je travaillais au Cyclotron de l’Université de Liège. J’ai ensuite acheté mon premier Macintosh, un Mac Plus « savonnette » en 1986. Son système d’exploitation était tellement plus avancé que le Microsoft DOS que je n’arrivais pas à comprendre pourquoi les gens n’étaient pas plus nombreux à adopter le Mac. Au début des années nonante, j’ai développé et administré le réseau informatique d’une petite banque privée avec des postes de travail Mac et des serveurs Unix.

Puis Windows 95 est sorti, et les avantages de la plateforme Apple Mac devinrent nettement moins évidents. Microsoft entama alors sa domination du marché professionnel et domestique. Apple fut relégué au marché de niche du monde du graphisme et de l’édition.

Quand Steve Jobs retourna chez Apple en 1996, il ramena dans ses bagages bien plus que son brillant esprit : le système d’exploitation NeXTstep, qui devint ensuite le Mac OS X. Le 13 Septembre 2000 à minuit, je faisais la file devant un dealer Apple à Bruxelles pour me procurer la première version Beta publique de Mac OS X.

Mac OS X constitue la clé du succès actuel d’Apple. Une entreprise est finalement parvenue à rendre la puissance de Unix accessible à tous les utilisateurs. Je pouvais dès lors utiliser mon expérience acquise durant toutes ces années passées à administrer des serveurs Unix et en faire bénéficier des clients privés. Derrière une interface utilisateur particulièrement bien pensée, il a y dans chaque machine Apple, desktop Mac ou MacBook toute la puissance de Unix. Et moi, je suis un « Unix geek » de la première heure

Grâce à une expérience et à des compétences combinant Unix et Apple, et en tant qu’affilié à l’Apple Store Entreprises, Words and Wires propose de l’équipement Apple, du conseil et du support pour tous les produits Apple ainsi que des serveurs privés totalement compatibles pouvant tourner tous vos services critiques email et échanges de données en toute confidentialité sur le serveur de votre entreprise ou sur un serveur privé dans le cloud.

Vous bénéficiez des produits Apple, sans qu’Apple n’ait accès à vos données.

John Seifarth
Founder and Technologist
Words and Wires sprl
Octobre 2013

John Seifarth - Founder of words and Wires

 

  • Contact Words and Wires
  • email:
  • Words and Wires sprl
    rue Valduc 266
    1160 Brussels
    Belgium
  • Phone: +32 2 660 3943
  • GSM: +32 478 42 45 20
  • Phone availability is 10:00 to 19:00 Monday through Saturday
    For customers with a support contract, phone availability is 10:00 to 22:00 Monday through Sunday
  • View John Seifarth's profile on LinkedIn
 

Checked with WC3 Validator © 2013 Words and Wires sprl www.waw.be

Small
Medium
Large
X-Large
Portait
Landscape